Nominees announced for the 1st ever Rad Awards

The first ever Rad Awards is a celebration hosted by honoring women who inspire others in the fields of technology, media, culture and business. This not-to-be-missed award ceremony at The Dreaming Building at 618 N. Front Street on April 18, 2015 from 7:00pm – 10:00pm will feature Bluecoat American Dry Gin cocktails and light fare sponsored by, music from DJ Diamond Girl and 200 of the raddest men and women in town.

Winners and nominees have been chosen by The Rad Awards’ committee, a closed selection of thought leaders who have achieved career success and serve as an inspiration to the community.

DATE: Saturday, April 18, 2015 TIME: 7 p.m. -10:00 p.m. VENUE: The Dreaming Building. 618 N. Front Street

Tickets: $15. This event is 21+.

See our full list of nominees below: 


Technologist Of The Year Dr. Michelle Johnson: Penn Medicine Rehabilitation and Robotics Lab Michelle Lee, CEO of Textizen Beah Burger-Lenehan: VP of Product, Ticketleap Leslie Chapman: Software engineer, Comcast

Designer of The Year Yesenia Perez-Cruz, Intuitive Melissa Morris Ivone, Curalate Hilary Sedgwick, Allen + Gerritson Dom Streater: Fashion Designer

Artist Of The Year Dessie Jackson Melissa Haims Lauren Rinaldi Darla Jackson

Nonprofit Of The Year Rock To The Future Girl Develop It The Leeway Foundation Gearing Up Philadelphia

Educator Of The Year Natalie Nixon: Philadelphia University’s Strategic Design MBA Program Eileen R. Heisman: President and CEO of National Philanthropic Trust Dr. Timaree Schmit, Sex with Timaree Angela Duckworth: Associate Professor of Psychology, University of Pennsylvania

Product Of The Year Morgan Berman, Milkcrate Philly Molly Hayward, Cora Patrice Banks, Girls Auto Clinic Patterson Watkins, Hocks N Coqs

Connector Of The Year Desiree Peterkin Bell: Communications. Office of the Mayor, Michael A. Nutter Anna Aagenes: Executive Director, GO! Athletes Liz Dow: CEO Leadership Philadelphia Sharmain Matlock-Turner: President/CEO Urban Affairs Coalition

Innovator Of The Year Sara McCorriston: Paradigm Gallery Rachel Ford & Jessica Lee: Made Philadelphia & Refugee Women’s Initiative Samantha Kincaid: Pastry Chef, Fork Jasmine T. Morrell: Spirited Tattooing

Storyteller Of The Year Holly Otterbein: WHYY, PhillyMag Tracy Levesque: Ruin Porn Heidi Saman: Namour Film Marisa Magnatta: Preston and Steve

Entrepreneur Of The Year Brigitte Daniel: Wilco Electronic Systems Allison Berliner: Spot It Buy It Elyse DiMauro and April Nett: Menagerie Coffee Lisa Miccolis: The Monkey and The Elephant

Activists of The Year Feminist Public Works: Hollaback Philly Tatyana Fazlalizadeh: Stop Telling Women To Smile Laura Sorensen: Trans Care Coordinator, Mazzoni Center Girls Justice League Women’s Medical Fund

Rad Guy Of The Year Chris Bartlett: William Way Community Center Dan Hodge: Philadelphia artist collective (50% of parts, women) JJ Tiziou: How Philly Moves David Norse: Broad Street Ministry Michael O Bryan: Built4us

Rad Girl Of The Year Helen Cunningham: Executive Director, Samuel S. Fels Fund Charisse R. Lillie: Vice President of Community Investment, Comcast Corporation Siobhan A. Reardon: President and Director, Free Library Kathryn Ott Lovell: Executive Director at Fairmount Park Conservancy Donna Frisby Greenwood: Program Director at John S. and James L. Knight Foundation

For media inquiries, contact Michelle Conron (o): 215.627.1060